Enjoy Free Rides Of Nagpur MahaMetro All Day On March 8

"The first free ride will depart from Sitabuldi at 8 am on Friday," said MD Brijesh Dixit.

Nagpur, nagpur metro, mahametro, MahaMetro, Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, chief minister, Devendra Fadnavis, union transport, minister Nitin Gadkari, mahametro md, brijesh dixit, union urban affairs minister, HS Puri, Airport South, Khapri stations, Mazi

You may not be able to avail free lunches in the world, but you can sure take a Metro ride for free on March 8. Thanks to MahaMetro, all rides on March 8 would be free for cost for Nagpurkars.  The idea behind the inaugural offer is to familiarize and educate the residents of the city on how to use the Metro.

The first phase of Nagpur Metro will be inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on March 7 at 5:30pm. The flag off ceremony will take place through video-conferencing at Airport South station.

MahaMetro managing director Brijesh Dixit revealed that chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, union transport minister Nitin Gadkari and possibly union urban affairs minister HS Puri will also take a Metro ride during the inauguration function. The dignitaries will ride from Airport South to Khapri stations and fro. That will be the only ride for the day.

Talking about the schedule of March 8, Dixit said, “The first free ride will depart from Sitabuldi at 8 am on Friday. There will be four rides in morning and evening. We will announce the timings on Wednesday.”

The first official commercial ride will be flagged off from the Sitabuldi station on March 9 at 8am. “Initially the services will run only in morning and evening as we have to complete the work on stations. The frequency will be gradually increased. For first one month, we will offer concessional fares,” he said.

Speaking about the inauguration programme, Dixit said, “CM, Gadkari and Puri will inaugurate our exhibition ‘Mazi Metro: A dream coming true’ at 3 pm. They will then unveil our coffee table book. Their speeches will be from 3.30 pm to 5 pm. They will inspect the station between 5 pm and 5.30 pm and see our video film. The dignitaries will board the train at 5.30 pm after it is flagged off by PM.”

Earlier, six stations were marked for being operational by the MahaMetro. But now Jaiprakash Nagar station has been dropped and only the rest five stations — Khapri, New Airport, Airport South, Airport and Sitabuldi will be operational. The rest of the six stations will be functional in phases.

According to Dixit, the Metro will only run on the up-line between the Khapri and Sitabuldi stations for the first 10 days. “The down line will be started soon,” he said.

As reported here, the stretch from Lokmanya Nagar to Subhash Nagar will not be operational. Dixit said the CMRS will be present to inspect it on March 3. “We will invite them soon after the inaugural function. By the time he comes, we will make a few more stations beyond Subhash Nagar operational,” he added.

Dixit acknowledged that the Railway Board and CMRS have been prompt in giving approvals from their end. “This is probably the fastest in India but these agencies have done it in past when the occasion required,” the MD said.

Information source: timesofindia

Title image source: railanalysis

Like our facebook page to stay updated. You can also download Reacho app on Android or iOS to get interesting stories at your fingertips.

News Entertainment Food Travel World Events Nagpur Pune Reacho

Prerana Nikhade (WRITER)

Prerana Nikhade writes for Reacho. If you wish to get in touch with them, drop in a mail at: