Annual Global Nagpur Summit: Nagpur First Hosts Global Nagpur Awards 2018

This year, 15 winners were awarded out of 70+ nominations.

Annual Global Nagpur Summit, Nagpur First

Nagpur First Charitable Trust, in association with Calderys India Refractories Ltd. Nagpur, hosted the Global Nagpur Awards 2018 on November 30, 2018 as part of the 5th edition of Annual Global Nagpur Summit.

The summit was organized by Nagpur First with the support of various city organizations and volunteers.

The awards program was chaired by Mr. Sachin Jahagirdar - Founder at AB Enterprises and co-chaired by Mr. Hemant Lodha – Managing Director at SMS Envocare.

Global Nagpur Awards recognizes individuals and organizations that contribute towards Nagpur’s development and support it in becoming a global city. The objective is to bring forth success stories which can inspire and encourage individuals and organizations, to go get it without feeling constrained due to lack of resources.

This year, 15 winners were awarded out of 70+ nominations. The categories, winners and citations are mentioned below.

1.Category: Arts & Culture

Awardee: Prakash R. Betawar

Citation: Prakash Betawar is a master of many media. He is the man behind Waste-to-Art sculpture, Eco-friendly designs and Mega Rangolis. He has used his art to spread messages of peace, national pride and the importance of education. He has won various prestigious titles for his work including his name in Guinness World Records. He has given traditional art, a modern celebration.

2.Category: Sports

Awardee: Raunak Sadhwani

Citation: Raunak Sadhwani is Silver medallist at the Asian Youth Chess championship at Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia and a Gold medallist at the Commonwealth Chess Championship at New Delhi. He is the youngest International Master from Maharashtra with the ranking of 4th in the world, 4th in Asia and 3rd in India in the under-13 Category.

3.Category: Individual Professional

Awardee: Suhasini Paul

Citation: Suhasini Paul is the post-graduate of National Institute of Design. She is the brain behind countless board games, interactive play ideas, Kinder Joy toys and Disney sport toys. She is a finalist for the Young Creative Entrepreneur Award by the British Council.

4.Category: Start-up

Awardee: Flying Penguins

Citation: Flying Penguins has been recognised among the Top 10 Mobile App Development Companies in India by the CIO Review, Bangalore. Their services ranges from branding, web development and print design, to mobile applications and CRM solutions.

5.Category: Individual Entrepreneur

Awardee: Ajay Kapoor

Citation: Ajay Kapoor is a master of business development and strategic planning. He is a pass-out of VNIT, Nagpur. His organization offers niche services to clients, across India and the States. He is committed to enabling healthcare establishments to perform optimally by bringing together domain expertise, the latest technology and skilled resources.

6.Category: Agriculture and Agriculture Products

Awardee: Nagpur Dal Millers Cluster Pvt. Ltd.

Citation: Nagpur Dal Millers Cluster Pvt. Ltd. have strengthened the entire ecosystem of dal milling. They have enabled millers to obtain a greater premium on quality products. Their common facility center has helped reduce losses through improved technology.

7.Category: Hospitality & Tourism

Awardee: Radisson Blu

Citation: Radisson Blu is a recipient of TripAdvisor’s 2018 Certificate of Excellence. They carry out regular Swachh Nagpur drives and care for the specially-abled in every way possible. Radisson Blu boasts of zero discharge of waste-water and uses renewable power.

8.Category: Information Technology

Awardee: HCL Technologies Limited

Citation: HCL Technologies Limited have brought coveted job opportunities to the city. They are working to set up a water ATM in the city, as well as a Science Centre. The Company also nurtures art, culture and healthcare.

9.Category: Education

Awardee: Dr. Anant Hardas

Citation: Dr. Anant Hardas is a science veteran, a writer, a philosopher and most of all an educator. He has over 50 publications to his credit, including research, review articles, and books. He has been the recipient of national awards such as the Bharat Shiksha Ratna Award and the Rashtriya Gaurav Award. He is the Founder-Director of the Indian Pharma Guidance Academy.

10.Category: Health

Awardee: Dr. Sameer Arbat

Citation: Dr. Sameer Arbat is the first doctor in Central India, to have a fully-functional Interventional

Pulmonology Unit, with the region’s first EBUS and Cryotherapy setup. He was invited to practice under Dr. Stefano Gasparini, the world authority in Interventional Pulmonology. He was awarded the Indian Chest Society Travel Grant for Young Researcher, to represent India at the ERS Congress 2018 at Paris.

11.Category: Infrastructure & Environment

Awardee: Visvaraj Infrastructure Ltd.

Citation: Visvaraj Infrastructure Ltd are well-known for sustainable models for urban water supply. Their 24x7 water supply project in Nagpur is celebrated among Asia’s top 10 public-privatepartnership projects. They are also helping the administration through road development works in Maharashtra.

12.Category: Social Venture

Awardee: Underprivileged’s Advancement by Youth (UPAY)

Citation: UPAY educates over 1500 underprivileged children with over 25 centers across the country. Their Footpathshala brings light, life and the promise of a future to street children. They have developed a sustainable model to educate in slums and remote villages through Reach and Teach.

13.Category: Science & Technology

Awardee: Dnyanesh Kamble

Citation: Dnyanesh Kamble is a post-graduate from IIT Madras. He is the man behind Asia’s first

International Innovation Gallery. He is committed to help inventors get ROI on their inventions. His organization provides global exposure to local genius. He works with students, academia, tinkerers and industries. He is a champion of Intellectual property rights.

14.Category: Manufacturing

Awardee: Inventys Research Company Limited

Citation: Inventys Research Company Limited has been Awarded ‘Leaders of Tomorrow’ by the Economic Times in 2012. They were featured in the Pharma Boardroom’s Healthcare and Life Sciences Review India 2018. This Company is pushing boundaries through robust science.

15.Category: Media & Entertainment

Awardee: Tejas Deoskar

Citation: Tejas Deoskar has gone on a roller-coaster adventure from architecture to sound engineering to film craft. He has always experimented with the unusual. He is a writer, director and editor for critically acclaimed short films. He has made blockbuster feature films with top rated actors from Hindi Film Industry like Madhuri Dixit in the Film ‘Bucket list’.

Like our facebook page to stay updated. You can also download Reacho app on Android or iOS to get interesting stories at your fingertips.

News Entertainment Food Travel World Events Nagpur Pune Reacho

Reacho Staff (WRITER)

Reacho Staff writes for Reacho. If you wish to get in touch with them, drop in a mail at