Glory for India At Paralympics

Indian contestants in Paralympics 2016 proved their mettle.Two champions named Mariyappan Thangavelu and Varun Singh Bhati won Gold and Bronze medals.

India, Indian Champions, Paralympics, India At Paralympics, Glory For India, Mariyappan Thangavelu, T-42, Sam Grewe, Gold Medal, Silver Medal, Paralympics 2016, Varun Singh Bhati

India claimed both the Gold and Bronze medals at the Paralympics 2016.

In a historic moment, Mariyappan Thangavelu won the gold medal while compatriot Varun Singh Bhati clinched the bronze in the men's high jump T-42 (for single or above-the-knee amputation) event.

The 20-year-old Thangavelu made a leap of 1.89m, while Bhati jumped his personal best of 1.86m to finish third. USA's Sam Grewe bagged the silver medal.

This is India's first medal at the 2016 Paralympic Games, and with Bhati's bronze, India now has two medals in this edition. Thangavelu also became the first Indian high jumper to win a Paralympics gold.  HN Girisha was the first Indian high-jumper to win a medal, at the 2012 Paralympic Games.

Take a look at Thangavelu’s medal-clinching attempt.

Title image: Ndtv

Download Reacho on Android or iOS to get more interesting stories at your fingertips.

News Entertainment Food Travel World Events Nagpur Pune Reacho

Shivansh Mishra (WRITER)

Shivansh describes himself as a Development Professional, writer, bibliophile, gourmand and a cinema lover, wrapped in one giant package. A fiction reader, he believes writing to be a medium of liberation and equally loves to write about both socio-political issues and movies, all with a tinge of satire. His favorite authors include Premchand, Vrindavanlal Verma, J.K. Rowling and Gabriel Garcia Márquez.