Akshay Kumar, Neerja Come Out Ahead At The 64th National Film Awards

Last year, the leading award winners were Amitabh Bachchan for Piku and Kangana Ranaut for Tanu Weds Manu Returns.

akshay kumar, sonam kapoor, awards, 64th national film awards, bollywood, entertainment, actor

The winners of the highly anticipated 64th National Film Festivals were announced at the National Media Centre today. Akshay Kumar bagged The best actor award for Rustam while the Best Actress Award went to Surabhi CM for Minnaminunge.

Source: Dnaindia

The jury had to select the winners from more than 300 films in 26 different languages over the period of one year. This annual film festival is considered as one of the most prestigious ones and this year's awards was headed by veteran director Priyadarshan.

Source: Dnaindia

Other notable mentions among the winners were the Best book on cinema which was won by Lata Surgatha - a book that depicts legendary singer Lata Mangeshkar's story and Sonam Kapoor's Neerja getting best Hindi Feature Film award.

Source: Indiatoday

Last year, the leading award winners were Amitabh Bachchan for Piku, Kangana Ranaut for Tanu Weds Manu Returns and Baahubali: The Beginning as the Best Feature Film

Here's the complete list of winners for this year's awards:

Best Actor: Akshay Kumar for Rustom
Best Actress: Surabhi CM for Minnaminunge
Best Film: Kasav
Best Director: Rajesh Mapuskar for Ventilator
Best Film on social issues: Pink
Best Supporting Actor: Manoj Joshi for Dashkriya
Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim for Dangal
Best Environmental film including agriculture: ‘The Tiger who crossed the line’
Best Hindi Feature Film: Neerja
Best Marathi film: Dashakriya
Best Kannada Film: Reservation
Best Bengali Film: Bisarjan
Award for Best children film: Dhanak
Special Mention Award: The Eyes of Darkness
Best VFX award: Ajay Devgn’s Shivaay
Indira Gandhi Award for debut director: Khalifa (Bengali)
Best Action Director and stunt choreographer: Peter Haines for Pulimurugan
Best Editing and Sound Mixing award: Ventilator
Best Female Playback Singer: Iman Chakraborty
Best Animation award: Mahayoddha Rama
Best Production Design: 24

Information Source: Theindianexpress

Title image: Baltana

Like our facebook page to stay updated. You can also download Reacho app on Android or iOS to get interesting stories at your fingertips.

News Entertainment Food Travel World Events Nagpur Pune Reacho

Niranjan Deshpande (WRITER)

An absent-minded introvert who likes to gobble up anything he may find on the internet. Armchair philosophist, gamer and an avid tennis lover. Loves to theorise about how humanity is going to finish itself.